Jeep XJ 1996, Project!

Theodorerms

• Platinum Member

Hi guys, so I recently purchased the old girl with a huge dent in the front and a buggered alternator and no brakes and a bundle of other little things that need sorting. I've been slowly working my way through, so far rebuilt the rear brakes and brake lines and had a go at hammering out the dent. next up I ordered some second hand shocks and front springs that i will throw in when they arrive but can't seem to find anyone selling standard rear leafs for a reasonable price.

also would love some advice though on a loose piston when idle (at least that is what it sounds like - should i wait for it to crap itself and replace the engine....

Orrr... hold off and try using higher octane fuel and new sparks plugs (ill get new spark plugs anyway i think), could that be a possibility? I read somewhere that increasing the pressure in the cylinder may help or make it last longer, yes i am a novice... 😄

Here are some Photos of the bits i mentioned;

585447521_jeepsideonrepair.thumb.jpg.3d30625dec9011c09ae29af06039bad8.jpg670102774_frontdent.thumb.jpg.935b8953334ee9c4debb2134eb09445a.jpg1977431625_oldsparkplugs.thumb.jpg.5caad09f79d6cb5b91d3fd4913ce33e9.jpg1279922678_workoutrustybrakes.thumb.jpg.20267cbc2019badac1fbe7310c1eac52.jpg

• Platinum Member

Welcome to the Club. The XJ is a classic and a great Jeep but that one is looking quite poorly 🤕, glad to see it's found a good home and someone to breathe some new life into it. Hope all goes well with the rebuild 👍

• Thanks 1

• Platinum Member
On 21/11/2019 at 20:30, Jim said:

What is wrong with the rear leafs? If they are just sagging you may be able to add a leaf to bring them back to life

image.png

They are just sagging and have a fair bit of surface rust. If i do add a leaf how long do you think it will last?

• Platinum Member
On 24/11/2019 at 14:02, Jim said: