Grand Cherokee silencer discontinued

NPC

• Platinum Member

Hi all

Newbie here, on the recommendation of my local tyre/exhaust place. I have a 2006 Hemi, and the centre silencer is blown. This means that instead of its normal almost silent progression, there is an unhealthy growl appearing as if the engine has Covid or something. The part has been discontinued by Jeep, so I need to find an alternative. I see I can import one from the US aftermarket for a ridiculous sum of $, plus shipping, customs delays and taxes. Otherwise Jeep suggested to find something from another car with a similar size and use that instead. Not so sure about that one. I found a bunch of possibly Polish guys in Southampton who say they can make one in Poland to Jeep specs and bring it over, so that may be an option, not a cheap one but cheaper than the US. Does anyone know of an aftermarket here which does Jeep silencers? I don't fancy much chance of finding one at a breakers yard... Any advice appreciated!

• Platinum Member

I would Google custom exhausts in your area. They will have access to loads of aftermarket silencers and should be able to make the pipe / adaptor to join up to your existing pipework.

• Like 1

• Platinum Member

Looking at Walker's parts diagram, it doesn't show a centre silencer (resonator) for the standard system on a 5.7L . Perhaps it is a specific EU model addition or an additional catalytic converter. Does the failed part have an oxygen sensor immediately upstream or downstream?

What replacement US part have you already found? Make? Model number?

• Like 1

• Platinum Member
4 hours ago, NPC said:

Hi all