Newbie here 1974 CJ5

CyNick

• Platinum Member

Hello all,

Just thought I'd say a quick hello.

27ish years ago i brought myself a 1974 CJ5, seemed a good idea at the time and some great fun.

The last 20 years it has been hiding in my parents garage, now a bit sorry for itself, (along with me lol).

Decided this should be a project to get back on the road, so will hopefully be able to pick some knowledgeable brains here on its restoration.

Nick

• Like 2

• Platinum Member

Welcome to the club Nick, nice to see  a CJ on here, got any pics?

Good luck with the project, does it need a lot of work?

My CJ7 had a similar experience, off the road for a long time while other things ( kids etc.... 😁) took precedence, but so glad I didn’t sell it. Spent probably 3, maybe nearly 4 years doing it back up and doesn’t look too bad now although still don’t get out in it enough 🙄

Edited by TimC
  • Like 2

• Platinum Member

Gr8. I love all Jeeps but am really keen on older ones. I think its a shame that so few older models are still running in the uk.  I understand that there are only about  60 of my YJ still on the road, a mere 27 yrs old.

Good luck Nick, I know you will have a lot of fun. There's plenty folk on here who can offer help.

• Like 1

• Platinum Member

Hi Nick,

Awesome Jeep and so glad to read that you kept it. Looking forward to pics among the journey! 

• Platinum Member

Thx for the replies guys.

Yes will dig some pics out.

Was just looking at another thread about vin numbers, and if log book right, then a cj6?

Not too sure what the difference between cj5/6 - just longer wheelbase?

In any event I think alot of learning and research coming my way

Nick

• Platinum Member
44 minutes ago, CyNick said:

Thx for the replies guys.

Yes will dig some pics out.

Was just looking at another thread about vin numbers, and if log book right, then a cj6?

Not too sure what the difference between cj5/6 - just longer wheelbase?