Inverter Installation

Yellow

• Platinum Member

Due to work I'm going to need to power stuff as I go along, and it can't hurt for a spot of camping here and there either!

I've got a 1000w inverter on its way, and the plan is to have it permanently installed under the front passenger seat, with an extension to a few 100w chargers that may sit in the boot, or more likely in the back seats so we can monitor charging as we go - the extension should give us the flexibility to do what we want, but I'd like the inverter stationary under the seat.

Sadly the job coming up I'm going to have to do in the Land Rovers provided, so its got to be put in there for now.

I have no knowledge of Discoveries, and perhaps this isn't the greatest place to ask, but I'm looking for cables that can take the 10ish amps I'll need (not going to put this through the cigarette lighter!) with the right size crimps on the end, and hopefully these will double up on the stock Wrangler battery, as well as on the Disco?

I'm not sure on battery placement on the Disco, I'm sure I can look it up though.

Where might I look for the right cables and crimps for this install, and is there even a way to get the cables neatly to inside the cab (disco and jeep)

The plan was just to have it permanently in there, no plugs in the cables or anything, is this something that I should consider for this?

If there is anything else I've forgotten it wouldn't surprise me, so fire away!

• Platinum Member
Wildjeeper62

Due to work I'm going to need to power stuff as I go along, and it can't hurt for a spot of camping here and there either!

I've got a 1000w inverter on its way, and the plan is to have it permanently installed under the front passenger seat, with an extension to a few 100w chargers that may sit in the boot, or more likely in the back seats so we can monitor charging as we go - the extension should give us the flexibility to do what we want, but I'd like the inverter stationary under the seat.